Dyrssen Award 2022

The Swedish Society for Marine Sciences annually manages and awards the Dyrssen Award for the two best degree projects in marine sciences at master's level. First prize is SEK 10,000 and second prize SEK 5,000. The award is instituted by SHF in honor of David Dyrssen (1922 - 2011), emeritus professor of analytical chemistry at the University of Gothenburg. As one of the founding members of the Swedish Society for Marine Sciences, he spent his career being an active proponent for the promotion of trans-disciplinary research for the marine sciences.

The Swedish Society for Marine Sciences are very happy to announce that the Dyrssen Award 2022 for best Master's Theses within Marine Sciences go to:

Thea Bisander (1st prize) for the thesis A temporal and spatial study of CH4 sea-to-air fluxes from shallow bays in the archipelago of Stockholm and Trosa.

Emelie Ståhl (2nd prize) for the thesis A test of the use of endospores of thermophilic sulfate-reducing bacteria as oceanographic tracers or bioindicators.