Dyrssen Award

The Swedish Society for Marine Sciences annually manages and awards the Dyrssen Award for the two best degree projects in marine sciences at master's level. First prize is SEK 10,000 and second prize SEK 5,000. The award is instituted by SHF in honor of David Dyrssen (1922 - 2011), emeritus professor of analytical chemistry at the University of Gothenburg. As one of the founding members of the Swedish Society for Marine Sciences, he spent his career being an active proponent for the promotion of trans-disciplinary research in marine sciences.

Dyrssen Award 2023 – nomineringen öppen till och med 15 september!

Master theses within marine sciences that have been approved between July 1st 2022 and June 30th 2023 are eligible for nomination to the 2023 Dyrssen award. The thesis must be within a marine science discipline and associated with a Swedish university. The nomination can be sent in by the student, but a nomination letter from the advisor or examinar must be included together with their contact information (e-mail address is enough). The nomination should include the following:

  • The thesis as a pdf
  • Nomination letter from supervisor or examiner
  • Name, address and email
  • University and Department that approved the thesis
  • Name of supervisor their e-mail address
  • Number of credits (högskolepoäng)

The nomination should be sent to dyrssen(at)shf.se, you can also contact us at this e-mail with any questions regarding the Dyrssen awards.

The Prizes are awarded during the annual meeting of the Swedish Society for Marine Sciences November 2023.